“Create”. What does it mean? How does it work?

OK, I went to http://www.dictionary.com for a true definition. I typed in “Create”. The first line on the page was a link to something else, but it said “is you dumb?”. LOL It made me think maybe it thinks we should already know the definition of “create” and why are we asking?

At any rate, there were a few definitions, one of which was: “to cause to come into being, as something unique that would not naturally evolve or that is not made by ordinary processes.” I think this is a pretty close definition for those of us in the “art” world.  I never really thought of myself as an “artist”, but lately when people ask what I do, rather than explain glass, and what I do with it, I find “glass artist” pretty much covers it.

OK, now that I’ve rambled, and we’ve determined we all know what “create” means, my true reason for writing to you today is more on the “How does it work?” portion of the title. Up until 2 weeks ago, I had no clue how it worked. Now that I am unable to get into the studio and create, I know how my creative side works. She works best when she is not allowed to come out and play. Kind of like when you can’t have something, you want it even more. My creative muse is restless, coming up with all of these ideas, things she wants to”create” because she knows darn good and well, I can’t let her out just yet. She’s torturing me with all of these ideas, and I’d bet my next bead sale, she’ll clam up and decide to go on vacation the minute I tell her she can come out and play.

So, for those of you who are having a lapse in creativity, maybe put your muse in time out, then she’ll tease you until you let her out again, and the creativity will begin to flow again. (We hope).

Hugs to all,

Sheri

Leave a Reply

