Diva Custom Cord Maker

My new favorite tool is the Diva Custom Cord Maker.  I picked this up at Blue Fire Beads last weekend and haven’t put it down since!  The kit comes with everything you need except fibers.  You need seven lengths of fibers.  I used about 42″ for each one.  Here is the kit with the fibers wound onto the spools.  Fiber Necklace Supplies

When you wind the spools, leave about six inches unwound and tie the ends in a knot.  Pull the knot through the bottom of your disk (3 with different hole sizes are included) then attach the included clip to the knot for weight.  Getting Started

Now, flip the disk over so the clip is underneath and put the fibers in each slot.  The order doesn’t matter and there will be one empty spot.Arranging fibers  Now, you can start weaving!  Count three spaces from the blank space, grab that fiber and move it to the blank spot.  Turn the new blank spot towards yourself, count three spaces and move that fiber.  Repeat these steps while occasionally giving the braid a little tug.  

Here, my cord is about 3 inches long. About 3 inches done   Cord Up Close

About 35 minutes later, I’ve got about 23 inches of cord.  Finished Cord  At this point I can tie the end and my cord is ready to use. 

Here are some of my cords.  I’ve used lots of furry, textured fibers. This is the one I was working on it the above pictures.The finished fiber cord    necklace-4.jpg     necklace-5.jpg     necklace-6.jpg     necklace-7.jpg

This one was made using C-Lon for a really delicate look.necklace-2.jpg

This one is very thick.  I used 14 strands instead of 7. necklace-3.jpg

I took these pictures while I was working on the cord, so as you can see, I’m in the living room with Thumper who’s watching TV!  🙂

5 responses to “Diva Custom Cord Maker

  1. Dianna you’ve made some beautiful cords! I haven’t got mine out of the package yet.

  2. Great job Dianna! You’re really going to town. I made one myself the other day and am putting together some fiber bundles. They’re a lot of fun!

  3. I love what you’re doing with this tool! I have only made a few of the cords, but want to make more… the fact that you can make them while riding in a car or watching t.v. is a big bonus for me… this way I’m still multi-tasking.

  4. I just edited this one. It had a typo. I use 42″ per fiber, not 72!!! lol

    I’m moving on to leather next.

  5. I’ve just gotten another shipment in of the cord makers. So I was sitting doing a new cord for a Doug Remschneider bead that I love, and the bird flies out of the cage (Who left the door open…?) and begins to “help” with the sparkly eyelash yarn.
    Buddy just kills me, he’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

