Where are you going?

As I have more time to do my ‘beady’ things, even though I don’t use that time properly, I start thinking about what I’m doing and where I’d like this to take me.  But am I too scattered to really do what I want?  I do glass.  I do finished jewelry.  I do chainmaille.  I do PMC.  I teach chainmaille.  I teach PMC.  I want to learn bead crochet.  I want to do silver jewelry with coiling, braiding, and more knitting.  I’d like to learn to metalsmith.  Sheesh.  At what point, if ever, do I need to just concentrate on one thing?  Will I ever be really good at something when I’m scattered all over the place trying to do everything.  I’m really torn sometimes because I like doing all of it.  Much as I love any one of those things I listed, I love the others just as much.

I’d like to be a ‘name’ in the bead/glass world someday.  It’s not hugely important to me.  Really it’s pretty low on my list of things I’d like to accomplish with my life but I would like people to know who I am because of what I do.  How do you feel about that?  Do you want people to see something–a bead or a PMC piece–and immediately know it was you who did it?

How do you organize your time to get everything done that you want to do?  I seem to have gotten worse at organization the more time I have.  I can spend a day thinking about what I want to do and when I finally figure it all out the day is gone.  I keep telling myself that I need to get an organizer, or even just use the calendar on my email program and set up my days.  Pick a PMC day.  Pick a stringing day.  Pick a *play with other techniques* day.  But I just don’t do it.  How can you make yourself get organized?

See.  Instead of actually doing something I need to be doing I am here thinking about it.  Maybe I just need to go and DO something right now…BBL

3 responses to “Where are you going?

  1. Deb, the problem you have with crafts in general, I have with lampwork.

    I can’t seem to pick what I want to focus on, and I want to master every technique, so – in my case -I end up being not good at any technique!

    I don’t organize my time at all – I haven’t even sparked up the torch in the past 5 weeks because Joe hasn’t been around to take the girls. I know I need to clean up the mess on my desk, organize my beads, get stuff up on etsy, etc, etc, etc, blah, blah, blah – I just don ‘t have the time. And to be honest, if I DID have the time, it probably all wouldn’t get done either!

    Not much help, am I!

  2. Oh man! If you figure it out, let me know! I’m so disorganized and scattered it ridiculous!

  3. Wish I knew the secret too. I really can’t focus on one segment of interest, my mind just doesn’t seem to work that way. Years ago when I was more focused on quilting, I still had anywhere from 3-5 going at the same time. Not the most productive way to accomplish something. The worst part of doing so many different things is cleaning up one to pull out another. Amazing how much time I can waste trying to find space to work on a difference project.

    In the last year I have found I’m more focused at the torch if I listen to audiobooks. Keeps part of my mind busy so I can get in the zone easier. I was always one of those kids who did homework in front of the TV too. Can’t say the books help with general organization though, if anything it’s worse if the book is good…….get more torch time in though. LOL

    Someone among us must be focused and organized, so who it is?

Leave a Reply

